§ 4 The institutional framework of the European Union

I. Overview

• see the overview in art. 13 EU Treaty

II. The Union's institutions (\rightarrow art. 13(1) EU Treaty)

- every institution adopts own rules of procedure
- principle of mutual sincere cooperation (art. 13(2) EU Treaty)
 - cooperation is regulated in *interinstitutional agreements* (cf. art. 295 FEU Treaty)
- citizen has right of access to the documents of the institutions (art. 15(3) FEU Treaty)

1) The European Council (art. 15 EU Treaty, 235 et seq. FEU Treaty)

- with **President of the European Council** with own competences (art. 15(5,6) EU Treaty)
- the leading political institution
- composition: heads of state or government + own President + President of Commission
- decides usually by consensus
- meets twice every six months

2) The Council of the European Union (art. 16 EU Treaty, 237 et seq. FEU Treaty)

- assisted by a *General Secretariat* and a *Committee of Permanent Representatives* of the governments of the member states (art. 16(7) EU Treaty, 240 FEU Treaty)
- the most powerful institution, in particular in legislation and budgeting (jointly with EP), foreign affairs and policy-making
- composition: one representative of each member state at ministerial level
- decides usually by qualified majority (55 % of member states, representing 65 % of the population), in some cases by simple majority (15 member states) or unanimous vote
- meets in 10 different configurations

3) The European Parliament (art. 14 EU Treaty, 223 et seq. FEU Treaty)

- with European Ombudsman with own competences (art. 228 FEU Treaty)
- the only directly legitimized institution; no dominant role but important powers in legislation and budgeting (jointly with Council) and of political control
 - no right of legislative initiative
- composition: representatives of the Union's citizens
 - degressively proportional representation of the citizens (art. 14(2) EU Treaty)
 - uniform electoral procedure planned for the future (cf. art. 223 FEU Treaty)

4) The European Commission (art. 17 EU Treaty, 244 et seq. FEU Treaty)

- with **President of the European Commission** with own competences (art, 17(6) EU Treaty)
- with **High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy** as vice-president with own competences and a *European External Action Service* (art. 18, 27 EU Treaty)
- promotes European public interest, takes initiatives, participates in legislative procedure, has own legislative and executive powers, executes budget and ensures compliance of the member states with Union law
- composition: in theory 19 members chosen in a system of equal rotation between the member states, in practice 28 members from all member states (cf. art. 17(5) EU Treaty)
 - integrity and independence strictly required (art. 17(3) sub-sect. 3 EU Treaty)
 - vote of consent of the European Parliament (art. 17(7) sub-sect. 3)
 - possibility of a motion of censure of the European Parliament (art. 17(8))

- **5)** The Court of Justice of the European Union (art. 19 EU Treaty, 251 et seq. FEU Treaty, Statute of the Court of Justice)
 - consists of European Court of Justice, General Court and Civil Service Tribunal
 - "shall ensure that ... the law is observed"; strong impact of judicial development of law
 - composition of the ECJ: one judge from each member state + 8 advocate-generals
- **6)** The European Central Bank (art. 282 et seq. FEU Treaty, Protocol on the statute of the European System of Central Banks and of the European Central Bank)
 - with Governing Council and Executive Board (art. 283)
 - constitutes together with the central banks of the member states the *European System of Central Banks (ESCB)* and with those of the Euro states the *Eurosystem*
 - enjoys legal personality and independence (art. 282(3) FEU Treaty)

7) The European Court of Auditors (art. 285 et seq. FEU Treaty)

- independent institution for the Union's audit
- composition: one member from each member state

III. The advisory bodies

• do not take own decisions but are consulted

1) The Economic and Social Committee (art. 301 et seq. FEU Treaty)

• advisory body for an institutionalised participation of stakeholders in the various economic and social sectors and of civil society

2) The Committee of the Regions (art. 305 et seq. FEU Treaty)

• advisory body for an institutionalised participation of the interests of regional and local governing entities (Länder, comunidades autonomas, régions, provinces, counties, départements, districts, communes etc.)

IV. Other institutions, agencies and bodies

1) Institutions based on primary law

- European Investment Bank (art. 308 FEU Treaty)
- EURATOM Supply Agency (art. 53 et seq. EURATOM Treaty)
- Europol (cf. art. 88 FEU Treaty)
- In preparation: European Public Prosecutor's Office (cf. art. 86 FEU Treaty)

2) Institutions based on secondary law

a) Interinstitutional bodies

• e.g. Publications Office, European School of Administration

b) Agencies

• e.g. Eurojust, FRONTEX, European Environment Agency, European Banking Authority, European Defense Agency, European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights

V. The principle of institutional balance

- ECJ, case 138/79, Roquette Frères / Isoglucose
- the equivalent to the principle of separation of power in the state